0 items / $0.00

THE GR'UPS - A Li'l Lost: 1992-1994 (LP+DL)

$10.00 Sold out

Image of THE GR'UPS - A Li'l Lost: 1992-1994 (LP+DL)


01. Almond Tree
02. Rockabilly Song
03. Oink
04. Red Riding Hood
05. You're A Job
06. On The Way To Frisco
07. Arg Fuck Kill
08. You Can't Die
09. Snow White
10. A Little Lost
11. Kali Is Yer Badass Mutha
12. Human Rash
13. Jabberwocky
14. Tristan
15. Some Thoughts on Rage
16. Fourth Of A Fifth of Whiskey


After Blatz imploded, Anna and Jesse hooked up with Matt Freeman - who was starting Rancid at the same time, Kamala - who was doing Cringer and about to join Naked Aggression - and Deb Disaster to start the Gr'ups in early 1992. Matt let loose with his long-awaited rockabilly guitar attack instead of his patented basswork, while Kamala hit the skins (sometimes literally) and Deb kept the basslines bubbling.

The name is an abbreviation for "Grownups" from a Star Trek episode and illustrates the original intent of the band to only do fairy tales and children's stories. While later songs went further, three of the five tunes on the 1st EP are related to fairy tales. After a 1992 summer tour with the pre-"Smash" Offspring, the band reshuffled itself as Deb and Matt left (Matt to concentrate on Rancid), bringing on Danyella Dyslexica on guitar and Dagney on bass for the 2nd ep and a 1993 US tour and two 1993 European tours, one with Citizen Fish. After arriving back in the US in January 1994 the band never played again. The Gr'ups final show turned out to be a raging warehouse party in Grenoble, France.

Over the past couple of years, the idea for a Gr'ups discography bubbled up and after contacting everyone in the band, we have assembled all of the studio tracks and many live songs. We're also putting together a DVD with various live shows, interviews, and an image gallery with photos and flyers. All of this is going to be released on San Pedro's finest record label, Recess Records. Schedules permitting, we also want to play a few reunion shows with Anna Joy, Kamala, Jesse, Danyella, and Deb. Danyella is currently a recurring actress on the 3rd season of the Showtime series "The L Word"- her name there is Daniella Sea.



• Includes Download of Full Album PLUS a Live at Gilman St. Set
• 300 Green Vinyl Test Pressings

Recess #146